Previous Topic

Next Topic

Book Contents

Book Index

Installing and Uninstalling AQT

Installing AQT

To install AQT, double click the install file aqtxxx_setup.exe.

AQT needs administrator rights to install. So you have three options:

You should retain the install file in case you need to repair or remove the installation.

Installing under different userids

If your machine has multiple users, you can either do an ALLUSERS install (described in Technical Notes), or use the following procedure:

Repair Install

If any of your AQT files have been inadvertently deleted or corrupted, you can reinstall them by running aqtxxx.exe and selecting Repair. This will copy the AQT files again. Any files that you have created (queries etc) will not be effected by this.

Upgrading from a Previous Version of AQT

When you install AQT it will automatically upgrade your existing release of AQT v9. The Windows Installer will uninstall the previous release then install the new release. You do not need to uninstall AQT first (though no harm is done if you do this).

This comment doesn't apply to AQT v8. Installing AQT v9 will not uninstall AQT v8. You will be able to run both AQT v8 and AQT v9 on your machine. You will be able to uninstall either version of AQT without affected the other.

Uninstalling AQT

You can do this by one of the following methods:

Removing AQT's Settings

When you uninstall AQT it will just remove the files that were created during the install. It will not remove:

This means that you can uninstall and reinstall AQT without losing your AQT customizations and preferences. However, if you have a problem with AQT, uninstalling and reinstalling will generally not resolve it, as often this is due to a particular setting.

To remove AQT completely from your machine:

To reset AQT's settings, remove these two registry keys.

Reverting back to an Earlier Release of AQT

If you wish to go back to an earlier release of AQT you need to:

Your files and settings will not be removed during this process.