Previous Topic

Next Topic

Book Contents

Book Index

Using Transactions

By default, when you run an SQL statement (such as an Update or Delete), the database is immediately changed.

Another option is to run your SQL statement as a Transaction. When this is done:

How to use Transaction Mode

Within both the Run SQL and Row Update windows, you have the option of starting a transaction. This is done with the menu item Transaction > Begin Trans:

Once you have Committed or Rolled back, your transaction is terminated (except when AutoCommit is de-selected - see the next section).

Auto-Commit

By default, every update you make to the database is applied and committed to the database immediately. This is sometimes referred to as Auto-Commit mode.

You can switch off Auto-Commit mode by de-selecting Options > Technical Parameters > Auto Commit. When auto-commit is switched off:

If you change the Auto Commit option when you are signed onto a database, nothing immediately happens:

Other Notes on Transactions