To run AQT in read-only mode, select Read Only mode. You can change this option at any time - this could be useful, for instance, if you are accessing a Production database and do not wish to run an update inadvertently.
To restrict access to particular databases, check Only allow signon to some databases, then select the drivers from the list of drivers.
To prevent the user from accessing the Admin Component, select Hide the Admin Component.
Changing the options permanently
You can permanently set one of these options by clicking on the Lock this Setting buttons. The option will be permanently set and you will not be able to reset this. Do not click on this button unless you really want to do this!! Even uninstalling and reinstalling AQT will not reset this setting, so do not do this by mistake.
These settings are held in the LOCAL_MACHINE part of the Windows Registry. In order to run Lock this Setting you need write access to this part of the Registry.
These settings will apply to all users of the PC.
If you are doing a mass deployment of AQT throughout your company, it is possible to automate the setting of these options. Contact us if you require more information on this.
Restricting Objects Viewed
In the future we will allow you to specify the objects that a user can view in the Database Explorer. In the meantime, this result can be achieved by changing the AQT config files so that a more restricted set of objects is displayed. The amended config file can then be deployed with AQT. Advanced Customization contains more on amending the cfg files.